Prior to 1989, my interest in film didn’t go beyond live-action fare. My exposure to animation was strictly limited to Saturday morning cartoons and the shows I would watch after school such as Transformers and G.I. Joe. The few animated feature films I saw in theaters were pretty good (Transformers: The Movie and An American Tail), but they weren’t impressive enough to get me to develop a passion for animation. This all changed with Disney’s 1989 release of The Little Mermaid. It was the first time I had seen anything animated that in my mind rivaled and even surpassed live-action movies. Little did anyone know, that Mermaid was to be the beginning of a renaissance at Disney Animation. With Mermaid, the Mouse House released a string of blockbuster event pictures that have now become timeless cinematic classics. Films such as Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and The Lion King established Disney Animation Studios as one of the most powerful studios in Hollywood and it helped launch many careers. In fact, if it were not for Disney’s success in the early 90s, I don’t believe we would have DreamWorks Animation, Pixar, and the animation industry that we have today.

Waking Sleeping Beauty is a new and acclaimed documentary from the producers of Beauty and the Beast. It covers Disney Animation’s golden age period of the 90’s and based on what I have heard, it is not to be missed by anyone interested in the business of filmmaking. As someone who worked in the feature length animation business, this film is of significant interest to me and I cannot wait to see it. Below is the trailer:

