Most Worth Buying a Ticket to See

The Dark Knight Rises (Warner Bros.) – Release Date: July 20

Like I need to explain why you should see this. Christopher Nolan’s completion of his mega-successful trilogy (even though it was never intended to be a trilogy) finally arrives and its my most anticipated film of the year. Although I wish the film had a villain other than Bane and I may be the only person who wishes Robin was introduced into Nolan’s universe, but nonetheless, this will be a can’t-miss movie. For those of you who live in the San Francisco Bay Area, you will do yourself a great disservice if you do not see this at the Sony Metreon IMAX screen in San Francisco. I saw THE DARK KNIGHT there and the experience is incomparable.

Runner-Up: Savages (Universal) – Release Date:  July 6

I never thought I would ever look forward to an Oliver Stone film the same way I used to look forward to the amazing body of work he put out during the 1980s (and 1991’s JFK). However, based on the trailer and the positive early reviews, this film looks promising and it reminds me of Stone’s underrated NATURAL BORN KILLERS.

Not Worth Your Time

Ice Age: Continental Drift (20th Century Fox) – Release Date: July 13

Its like the friend who overstays his welcome. Speaking from a strictly artistic rather than business perspective, the ICE AGE series should have never even been a series. The first film was a slightly amusing romp back when it came out in 2002. I haven’t even bothered to watch the other films and I’m pretty confident that I’m not missing anything by skipping them. The same goes for this one. Your child will get more entertainment and enlightenment playing with an empty box than watching this sure-to-be dreck.

Runner-Up: The Watch (20th Century Fox) – Release Date: July 27

Look at that! Fox has the two most dreaded films of this month. I’ll admit that the red-band trailer of THE WATCH had a few great laughs. However, just like Adam Sandler, I have gradually come to view anything starring Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn with trepidation. Jonah Hill offers a very tiny glimmer of hope, but I’m not holding my breath for this one. Skip.

