Most Worthy of Your Bucks:

Argo (Warner Bros.) – Release Date: October 12

Its been so great to see Ben Affleck find his true calling as a film director. Argo is his third directorial effort and it looks even better than his two previous films (GONE BABY GONE and THE TOWN). The story behind this film is true and supposedly the story was only recently declassified. The film is basically about the CIA’s attempts to free American hostages taken from the U.S. embassy in Iran in 1979 and its idea to use Hollywood magic to get them out. The premise alone is enough to get me to see it and I’ve heard great buzz on the film.

Cloud Atlas (Warner Bros.) – Release Date: October 26

Ever since the Wachowski Brothers (THE MATRIX series and SPEED RACER) proved themselves to be one-hit wonders, I have viewed any post-MATRIX projects from the brothers (or I should say brother/tranny or brother/sister) with a shitload of skepticism. The trailer to this film looks intriguing and it could very well be an epic success that will be a return to form for the Wachowskis. Then again, this film can just as easily be a disaster and my initial inclination is to predict that it will bomb.

Not Worthy of Your Bucks:

Taken 2 (20th Century Fox) – Release Date: October 5

Remember when Luc Besson was a filmmaker that we all gave a shit about? I guess those days are over and now we just get an identical and shameless retread of the original film that is obviously intended to milk as much out of this cash cow as the studio possibly can. Also, I think Liam Neeson is a great actor, but I don’t need to see him do 5 movies a year.

Paranormal Activity 4 (Paramount Pictures) – Release Date: October 18

Speaking of cash cow, Paranormal Activity seems to have overtaken the SAW series as October’s box office horror king. I absolutely loved the first film and I regard it as the scariest film I have ever seen (so scary that I refuse to purchase the film). I saw parts 2 and 3 as well (both in theaters), but I seem to remember that part 3 pretty much put a nice cap to the story. I wish the studio held that cap closed, but when your third film continues to make a ton of money on a shoestring budget, why stop?

